Home » history of design » The influence of technology and science on our lives…

The influence of technology and science on our lives…

In order for us to understand terms such as Utopia and Zeitgeist we need technology to build on our knowledge. Also to from Zeitgeist we need to have more information on the world and its trades. The following will explain a few terms regarding technology and also how it reflects in our every day life.

Technology

Technology is advanced scientific knowledge used for practical purposes. It is especially visible in the industrial world where it is used to improve and invent new advanced machines and equipment. Technology is seen as the application of science. It is electronic and digital products used to make production easier.

Science

Science derives from a Latin word “Scientia” which means knowledge.  Science is the study and knowledge of the physical world and its behaviour that is based on experiments and proven facts.  Science is the knowledge attained through study and practice.  Science is practiced by experimentation and good observation during experiments.  Science is mainly used to produce useful models of reality for next generations.   Science can also refer to a subject such as biology, physics or chemistry where it focuses more on the earth’s sciences and the modern science of ecology.  Science can be defined as pure science and applied science. Applied science refers more to research on human needs e.g. social sciences and pure science is more natural sciences.

Reflexivity

A reflexive movement or action is one that you do without thinking thus reflex is the way your body parts move without you thinking about it or being able to control it. Reflexivity can also refer to something more personal.  It refers to a person’s values, beliefs and interests and how it influences a person’s work.

Technicism

Technicism is defined as overconfidence in technology.  It is still an argument whether technicism is just the overconfidence in technology or is it the belief that humans will be able to control the entire existence using technology.  Some argue that human will eventually be able to master all problems with technology and they will control the future with that.

 

To wake up in the morning without an alarm is impossible for me. Although all small objects in life are also part of technology we tend to use the newer bigger and more extravagant technology.  Every day starts with technology.  We don’t use separate products such as alarms, watches, diaries calendars etc. to organize our lives anymore. We have cell phones with applications and features that do all these separate things that make our lives easier and then not only the necessary things, these phones have application for many more to entertain us and keep us busy. Now a day you don’t have to buy a newspaper to know what’s happening in the world. You can use the internet to read the news and stay up to date with the world’s small paradigms. From my point of view i see the internet as the biggest improvement in technology because it is available to everyone around the world and you can find absolutely anything on there.  I will be miserable and lost without the internet.  To be able to use internet you need a computer.  Today computers comes in different forms, laptop, desktop, notebooks, apple Mac and the list can go on because today everything works with different types of computers.  I always use the expression that my laptop has my whole life in it and if it dies I will die.  Today we rely on technology to store work, memories, music for entertainment and all other documents and files you can think of.  Earlier in society we used other smaller devices to store information on and today we can save big masses of information on one object with enough space such as external hard drives and flash drives. Technology not only refers to computers and similar devices it refers to many other objects we use in life such as a washing machine or even our cars. In order for human to be able to improve and use technology we need science to observe and experiment and to gain knowledge on certain things. Without knowledge and wisdom we as human are nothing. It is one thing to be clever but another thing to have knowledge and to know how to integrate your knowledge to your daily life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To share more about my interaction with technological items… basically my whole life exists from technology. I wake up in the morning with my cell phones alarm and then as soon as I opened my eyes I check what the time is just to work out how many times I have pressed the snooze button already. Then I say morning to the world via social networking and I see how many people had insomnia during the night and were extremely desperate for some conversation.  To remain on the cell phone topic, during the day when I think of something cool for a project or I just have a random thought or even if I have to remember something and I don’t have anything to write on, I type a memo on my cell phone or just put a reminder on there. How easy is that? It is a thousand objects and products in one. I am in love with my blackberry because it makes life easier in so many ways. My second best friend is my laptop. I rely on this object every day. I work on it I store everything on it and I explore on it. By exploring I mean I spend hours and hours on the internet just looking at the coolest stuff ever.  Sometimes I am amazed, my mind drifts away and I totally forget about all other things that I need to focus on. Technology amazes me. As we all know technology can sometimes let you down and it happens so quickly that something just crashes. I lost count of all the times that I felt I want to throw a blackberry or a laptop against the wall but then I just go back to the roots and I remember to backup all the documents and files on at least two other devices. I use my flash drive everyday and it makes life easier to share data quickly. For larger amounts of data I use an external hard drive which I keep safe so that in need I have backup.

Once again I say… I am lost without technology, even without light I am in total darkness.

 

http://www.wordaz.com/technicism.html

http://technicism.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/definition-of-technicism/

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/technology

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/technology http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/technology.html

http://www.sciencemadesimple.com/science-definition.html

http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/science

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/reflexivity.asp#axzz1n5Mdqoar

Leave a Reply

